Medieval fortified town of Gremi, the residence of the kings of Kakheti (1466-1614), is located to the East, 20 km from Telavi and 16 km from Kvareli, 480 meters above the sea level. Gremi used to be not only political but also economic and cultural center of Kakheti. The literacy activity was very active here. It was on the path of caravan ways. As a result of Iranian Shah Abbas I invasion in Kakheti, Gremi was ransacked.
Fortified town area was 50 ha and it consisted of three major parts: Complex of All Angels, Royal Residence and Merchants neighborhood.
Complex of All Angels was isolated by a fence. It had a stone-paved secret exit toward river Intsobi. In the eastern citadel of Gremi is located the church of All Angels having the form of a cross with a dome (built in 1565 by Kakheti king Levan, painting finished in 1577). On the western wall of the interior of the cathedral, church wardens’ portraits are represented. The fence of the Cathedral equipped with gun emplacements was at the same time a reinforcement which was rehabilitated by Erekle II. In the Royal residence there were Royal Palaces, a building with a fountain, eight-angle tower, brick royal bath supplied with water through an aqueduct linked with river Lopoti. The whole town was crossed by ceramic pipes of running water. Merchants’ neighborhood compiles an indoor market (kulbaks) and a hotel (karvasla). The market was a fenced territory paved with stone with four rows of arched shops (dukani) (overall 30 shops). Each dukani (area 10 sq.m.) consisted of a room and a veranda open to the courtyard where goods for sale were stocked. Some dukani had a basement. The kulbaks from the East were attached to the corridor-type hotel of 80 meters long (it had 16 rooms each from both sides). In 80-ies of the XX century a local history museum was opened here. On December 12, 1999 religious life was revived in Gremi.David Gareji, a rock-hewn monastery complex, is a unification of Georgian cave monasteries of the VI century. It was settled by David Garejeli, one of the thirteen Assyrian monks who arrived in Georgia to spread the tradition of monasticism. There are about 20 cave monasteries cut in the rocks, which cover the territory of three regions ofGeorgia: Gardabani, Sagarejo and Sighnagi and there are hundreds of lodgings cut in the caves.
Here are allocated churches, cells, storage facilities, dwellings and etc. In a number of cave churches and refectories there are preserved the frescos dating back to the VIII – XIV centuries with the images of historical personas, among them the portrait of theQueen of Georgia – Tamar, who got the name of the King. Saint David’s lavra is considered to be the dominating monastery of David Gareja. It was founded in the middle of the VI century by Reverend David from Gareji and later the monastery was named after him.
|№||Number of passengers||Number of dates||Price
(per person) with guide
|7||16 and more||1||$20||$40|